Awards of ISS/SIC


According to the General Assembly held on September 30, 1989 at Toronto, the "Scientific Council" shall be considered synonymous with the "Members of the Council". Therefore, the Council shall select recipients of Awards and Prizes of the ISS/SIC at the proposal of the National Chapters and their National Delegates.

Application Form


Application form for:

Prize of the ISS/SIC "Société Internationale de Chirurgie"
Robert Danis Prize
Honorary Fellowship

Nomination Process


Nominations for prizes and Honorary Fellowship are by invitation. Personal applications for an award are not considered. Each prize is awarded to an individual and not to an institution or an association. Candidates will not be considered for a prize unless nominated on an official form by three members of the ISS/SIC who are familiar with the candidate’s contribution. The completed form must be in the English language, typewritten, and accompanied by the candidate’s curriculum vitae and bibliography. The completed nomination forms must be received by the Secretary-General of the ISS/SIC no later than December 1st, the year before the incoming congress in order to assure processing by the Council and Nominating Committee at their regular meetings.

Nominations will be reviewed by the Council of the ISS/SIC who will make the final decisions. The decisions by the Council will not be applicable.

Completed Nomination Forms and Description of the Candidate’s Contribution shall be sent to:

Secretary-General ISS/SIC
Seefeldstrasse 88
CH - 8008 Zürich


Honorary Fellowship


Honorary Fellowship shall be awarded by the Council. Recipients shall be members of undoubted international reputation and who have rendered distinguished services to the ISS/SIC.

Prize of the ISS/SIC "Société Internationale de Chirurgie"


At the General Assembly of the ISS/SIC held on September 17th, 1953, it was decided, on the recommendation of the Scientific Council, to award at each future meeting a prize to be called: Prize of the "Société Internationale de Chirurgie".

The prize is to consist of a medal which shall be awarded to the surgeon who has published work which has made the most notable and useful contribution to Surgical Science. The prize winner need not necessarily to be a member of the Society.

Candidates for the prize must be recommended by their National Delegate to the Secretary-General of the Society, together with the reasons for their choice. These recommendations will be circulated to the members of the Council. They will be considered and voted upon at the meeting of the Council which is always held before the Inaugural Meeting of the Congress.

The prize winner shall be decided by an absolute majority of votes. If an absolute majority is not obtained at the first count, the decision shall be made by a relative majority at the second count. If two candidates obtain the same number of votes, the Chairman shall have a casting vote. The name of the prize winner shall be announced by the Secretary-General at the formal Inaugural Session.



Robert Danis Prize


The Robert Danis Prize will be given to the surgeon, author of the most important and personal work in connection with surgical treatment of fractures (orthopedic treatment excluded) and in connection with techniques, clinics or experimentation of fracture treatment and with the pathophysiology of trauma in general.

The Board will consist of the Executive Committee and Mr. Robert Danis (or his successor at the "Foundation Chirurgicale Elise Dugniolle"). For to be a Prize Winner, it is not necessary to be a member of the International Society of Surgery (ISS/SIC) nor has his nationality any importance.



René Leriche Prize


A prize for vascular surgery is at the disposal of the International Society of Surgery (ISS/SIC) and the winner will be chosen by the Scientific Council. A medal will be given for the most valuable work on the surgery of arteries, veins, or the heart which has appeared in the previous few years.